Top 10 writing distractions

29 Sep

I’m 50 pages into my second novel and I’m really excited about it. Except… well, now I have to write another 250 pages. I can do this. I’m home from work and I have a nice hot cup of English Breakfast tea in my hands. I stare at the computer screen. Perhaps I’ll feel inspired to write if I just let myself…

1. Go on Twitter

Yeah! If I browse other people’s  tweets I’ll totally realize what I want to write about. Wait? It’s already been an hour? $&%#!!

2. Check email

Cause you know, maybe an agent who forgot about me has decided to write me back, declaring they loved my manuscript and can’t wait to call me. Or not. But hey! Look at all the people on gchat!

3. Check Facebook 

Because stalking people is fun, right? Except some are really annoying. Maybe they’d make great characters?! I totally need to continue spying on stranger’s pages for research purposes.

4. Check UsWeekly, People and Dlisted

Because I really need to know if Demi and Ashton are breaking up and have more reasons to dislike pretentious Gwyneth Paltrow.

5. Terrorize the cat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just look at  how fat and cute and cuddly he is. How can I resist going over there to smother him with love?

6. Open the Refrigerator

Because snacking on pita chips and dipping into the hummus quartet from Trader Joe’s will spark my creative juices. I’ll start writing as soon as I’ve finished eating this carton of cottage cheese.

7. Go on BBC news

I need to be informed about what’s going on in the world. Yes, I’ll do that before I start writing. Okay… now I’m depressed.

8. Turn on the Television

Hello vacuous Kardashian sisters who I love to hate, creepy mothers of Toddlers in Tiaras and my favorite of all- the spray tanned beauties from My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding!!! And then maybe I’ll watch Say Yes to The Dress…I am getting married after all!

9. Read

Because reading is what makes you a better writer, right? I need to finish this book before I can get back to writing my draft.

10. Blog

Oh…hello there! You caught me. But you see, I had to write this post as part of building my author platform. If I don’t blog then agents won’t like me. Yeah okay, writing the actual book is important too. I guess I’ll go get to work on that now. :)

22 Responses to “Top 10 writing distractions”

  1. Jolyse Barnett September 29, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Hilarious, and so, so true! Have you been spying on me, Mer??

    I’m addicted to my email, always telling myself I need to check it b4 I can settle into writing. Then I’ll take the Twitter break, like I did just now (and you see where that led me). I’m pretty good about my blog, devote one three-five hour session for that per week. Television is off-limits. Well, except for HGTV House Hunters International, that Food Chef show, NCIS (Mark Harmon is a hottie), and now XfactorUSA. Oh, and Glee. But watching television counts as research, right??

    So funny…I’ll have to subscribe to your blog. Look forward to your posts.

    Back to work for me. After I take a quick snack break, that is.

    • Meredith Jaeger September 30, 2011 at 1:42 am #

      This is hilarious! Thank you so much for stopping by Jolyse! Oh my gosh, Glee- yes…that is a welcome distraction. And I am unfamiliar with this hot man on NCIS, so I will google him now as part of further procrastination! :)

  2. Piper Bayard September 30, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    Lol. This is all just waaaay too true. :)

  3. offilerkristin September 30, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    Oh Meredith, I can’t tell you how much I relate to this post and how much I laughed while reading this! I am the *queen* of writing distractions. I hate it, but I can’t seem to stop. But oh it’s SO good to know I’m not alone! :)

    • Meredith Jaeger September 30, 2011 at 1:51 am #

      Oh Kristin I was so bad today! I wrote this blog, went on twitter and saw this #chicklitchat session, met all these awesome chick lit writers, talked on the phone and failed to write any pages on my new novel. You are not alone!! :)

  4. Sally Hepworth September 30, 2011 at 1:05 am #

    So funny. Right now I’m reading your blog when I should be writing :s

    • Meredith Jaeger September 30, 2011 at 1:52 am #

      Sally!! I haven’t written a word since we swapped. Eeeekkk! I need to get back on track!

  5. Carol September 30, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    Omigosh, this is so funny. That cat looks exhausted from playing video games!

    • Meredith Jaeger September 30, 2011 at 2:35 am #

      It’s okay mom, you can comment as yourself! (my mom likes to make me seem more popular than I am and I love her)

      Sylvester misses you. Look how fat Will and I have let him get!! And I can’t wait for the next marathon of Gypsy Wedding!! xoxoxox

  6. Angela September 30, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    Haha! This was soooo funny! I’m the same way, so don’t feel bad ;o) I think I could’ve written this list myself! I’m so glad I’m not the only one captivated by “My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding”, lol. That show is like a car wreck–you don’t want to look, but for some reason, you can’t stop yourself!

    • Meredith Jaeger September 30, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

      Isn’t it fascinating? Their accents, their culture, those dresses- it’s just too much! Haha I’m so glad you watch it too! :)

  7. Leanne Shirtliffe October 1, 2011 at 2:49 am #

    How true (and funny) is that. I’d add kids, husbands, and looking for my notebook.

    • Meredith Jaeger October 2, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      Oh yes, I don’t have any kids yet. I admire every single one of my writing friends who are mothers. You are like superwomen!

  8. JM Randolph October 1, 2011 at 3:03 am #

    You nailed it. Except I usually opt for cleaning something instead of TV. This isn’t as goody-good as it sounds. It is because there are five other people in line for the remote before me, and I generally have to clean (or at least de-clutter) something to be able to physically reach another distraction, like the refrigerator, or the dogs.

    • Meredith Jaeger October 2, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Haha, yes I need to do my Sunday cleaning today. My writing space is pretty badly cluttered right now, and I do feel the urge to de-clutter before getting down to business. Thanks for stopping by my blog! :)

  9. marykateleahy October 3, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    That hummus quartet looks delicious!! I have a hummus addiction. The internet is so distracting. That’s why I like to go write in a coffee shop where I don’t know how to fix the wi-fi. My natural reticence to bother people will keep me from asking, and I get work done. Funny stuff :)

    • Meredith Jaeger October 3, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

      Ha! That is genius. :) I feel self conscious when I work in coffee shops, like strangers are going to read over my shoulder (or creepy men-lol). But a lack of wi-fi would definitely increase productivity.

      Glad you like hummus as much as I do! It’s sooo good :)

  10. alex wenman October 6, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    i have the same problem with distraction from writing i always seem to write around 10 pages and get ever so slightly distracted and before i know it ive been on facebook or internet shopping for nearly 2 hours and so i carry on writing but by this point i have lost all motivation and my ideas for what is going to happen next are all gone!! maybe i should get a notepad and write all my favourite idea’s down this way the devil that is facebook wont destroy my hopes of eventually finishing my book.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The End is Near (and we deserve it). . . . Fake Texting Girlfriends « Author Piper Bayard - September 30, 2011

    [...] one is entirely too true for comfort. Top 10 Writing Distractions by Meredith [...]

  2. Put the dog to work and wa-la more time! | Sadie Hart - October 12, 2011

    [...] Meredith Jaeger posts about the Top 10 Writing Distractions [...]

  3. Writing Distractions + Inspirations…can it get any better? | The Write Stuff - November 11, 2011

    [...] I’ve been struggling to stay productive, I stumbled across this hilarious list, Top 10 Writing Distractions from Meredith Jaeger’s blog, The Trouble with Twenty-two. It scary how close my own list [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 567 other followers

