Being thankful

23 Nov

 

With the Thanksgiving holiday fast approaching, I’m not expecting to get any writing done over the four day weekend. Scratch that, I know I won’t get any writing done. I’m going to San Diego and leaving my laptop behind. After second helpings of mashed potatoes and stuffing,  I doubt I’ll want to do anything except sprawl on the couch in front of the television.

But you know what? Sometimes it’s okay to give yourself a break. Life is hectic enough already. Add in the stress of wondering if you’ll ever become a successful novelist, and the daily grind can feel overwhelming. Big goals are scary. Many people don’t pursue their dreams-the fear of failure is too great.

To all you NaNoWriMoers who haven’t reached 50K. Don’t fret! Look at what you have accomplished. Remember the document was blank when you started. Even if you’re not where you want to be, be proud of where you are. Realize that you’re getting someplace. My goal for this week was to complete 150 pages of my second novel. I haven’t quite reached it, but I’m close. Middles are tricky. Plodding towards the end can feel like walking in quicksand. The fear of agent rejection threatens to suck me under. What if it happens again?

Still, something keeps me going. And I’m thankful for it. The drive to continue writing, getting lost in the world I’ve created, is worth the risk. I enjoy talking to the characters in my mind. Because whether or not I ever get published, I have something that’s mine. My workplace identity doesn’t define me. I am the girl pouring her thoughts onto a blank page and watching them take shape.

As the days get darker, continue working towards your goal. Like the snowflakes lining Market Street, there’s a path illuminated in front of you. Look towards the end, even if today you only make it to the next lamppost.

Happy Thanksgiving

3 Responses to “Being thankful”

  1. Angela November 23, 2011 at 2:47 am #

    Meredith, you are such a lovely writer–I always look forward to your posts. :o)

    It is VERY scary going through the process a second time. Querying is such a crapshoot. I KNOW the book I’m querying now is better than my first, but the response to it has been horrible (worse than the first!). It’s all about supply and demand, and unfortunately, publishers are not demanding paranormals (far from it) . Trying to get published (heck, I’d settle for an agent) is definitely one of the most stressful and emotionally draining things I’ve ever done.

    Oh, and I think I’m going to take some time off from writing/querying very soon too. It’s either that or risk a nervous breakdown, lol ;o) The holidays are stressful enough!

    • Meredith Jaeger November 30, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

      Stay strong Angela! I admire you for putting yourself out there again. We can’t control the market, and that’s the most frustrating thing of all. I’m not opposed to the idea of self publishing if my second doesn’t get an agent, but you’ve got to do what’s right for you. Give yourself a little break from the stress! Happy holidays and hugs!! :)

  2. Sally Hepworth November 23, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    Very inspiring. You deserve a break. It will give me a chance to catch up!

    Happy Thanksgiving to my American friend :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 567 other followers

